Blount County DUI Lawyer

If you are facing a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) charge in Blount County, it is crucial that you take your charges seriously. A conviction could result in serious legal, personal, and professional ramifications for years to come.  By hiring an experienced Blount County DUI lawyer, you could have your charges reduced and face less severe consequences. Choosing to forgo retaining legal representation could have a significant impact on nearly every aspect of your future.

Blunt County DUI Defined

In the state of Tennessee, you can be charged with a DUI if you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.8 percent or higher as per Tennessee Code § 55-10-401. You can also be charged with a DUI for being under the influence of other substances besides alcohol, such as illicit drugs or certain prescription medications.

Schedule Your Free Criminal Defense Consultation Today

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Can You Refuse to Have Your BAC Tested?

If you are stopped and asked to take a breathalyzer or other type of test to screen your BAC, it is generally best to comply. Obtaining a driver’s license and getting behind the wheel provides your implied consent to have your BAC tested if a law enforcement officer requests. You can refuse to submit to a BAC test. However, it will come with the following consequences:

  • Revocation of your driver’s license for one year (1st offense)
  • Revocation of your driver’s license for two years (2nd offense)
  • Revocation of your driver’s license for two years if the crash resulted in bodily injury 
  • Revocation of your driver’s license for five years if the crash resulted in a death 

Typically, your Blount County DUI attorney will have more success pleading down your DUI charges if you agreed to a BAC test when requested. Being cooperative with law enforcement can help your case.

CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Read More Testimonials

Possible Consequences for First Time DUI Offenders

If you are charged with a DUI, your first step should be to hire a seasoned DUI lawyer in Blount County. Hiring an attorney will cost money, but not having legal representation could cost you much more monetarily and in other ways too. With towing, bail, attorney fees, high-risk insurance, court costs, school, and reinstatement fees, your first offense average costs could come with a price tag of up to $4,900.

Your attorney can review your case for any mistakes law enforcement could have made during your arrest or BAC testing in an attempt to have your case dismissed or receive an offer for a plea deal for lesser charges. As a first time DUI offender, you could face some or all of the following consequences:

  • A minimum of 48 hours up to 11 months, 29 days for offenders in violation of 55-10-401
  • For a .20 BAC or greater a minimum jail time seven consecutive days
  • License revocation for one year
  • Mandated participation in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Payment of restitution to any person suffering from physical injury or personal loss
  • A $350-$1,500 fine
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense (minimum first-year costs could reach over $1,000)

Potential Consequences for Second and Third Time Offenders

The more times you are charged and convicted of a DUI, the graver the consequences you could face. If this is not your first DUI, it is imperative that you have help from a skilled DUI attorney in Blount County to defend your case. The stakes are higher, and you could face the following penalties as a second-time DUI offender:

  • At least 45 days to 11 months, 29 days in jail
  • Mandatory fine of $600-$3,500
  • License revocation for two years
  • Possible vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • Mandatory enrollment and completion of an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense
  • If two convictions of DUI in 5 years, Ignition Interlock Device required for six months after reinstatement at your expense
  • Restitution paid to any person suffering personal injury or loss

Third time DUI offenders could be subject to any or all of the following:

  • Between 120 days and 11 months, 29 days in jail
  • Between $1,100 and $10,000 in mandatory fines
  • License revocation for six years
  • Possible vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • Mandatory attendance in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense
  • If two convictions of DUI in 5 years, Ignition Interlock Device required for six months after reinstatement at your expense

Fourth and Subsequent DUI Offender Potential Consequences

Tennessee laws require specific consequences for drivers facing their fourth or more DUI charges. These are a Class E felony for which you will want the assistance of a Blount County DUI attorney. Even though you already have multiple DUIs behind you, it is always worth it to hire an attorney to help protect your interests and possibly reduce the consequences you will face.  These consequences include:

  • One Year (365) days of jail time with a minimum of 150 consecutive days served
  • A mandatory fine of $3,000 to $15,000
  • License revocation for eight years
  • Possible vehicle seizure/forfeiture
  • Mandatory attendance in an alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense
  • If two convictions of DUI in 5 years, Ignition Interlock Device required for six months after reinstatement at your expense

Schedule Your Free Criminal Defense Consultation Today

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Other DUI Circumstances

Other circumstances can cause your DUI charge to become more serious, such as driving with a child in the car, or the serious injury or death of another person. If you have a special circumstance with your DUI charge, there is still legal help available to you if you speak to a dedicated DUI lawyer in Blount County as soon as possible.

Call a DUI Attorney in Blount County Today

If you were recently charged with a DUI, it is imperative that you call a Blount County DUI lawyer as soon as possible. You may be wondering what the future holds and what you can do to minimize your consequences. We understand these feelings and are here to help. The sooner your lawyer can begin defending you, the better outcome you can have. When you meet with your attorney from our firm, they will review the circumstances surrounding your DUI to determine what the best strategy is for your case.

Call the Barnes Law Firm at 865-805-5703 to schedule your consultation today, or you can use our online contact form. We also offer the convenient option of online video consultations.


Client Testimonials

"John is amazing not only did he get the outcome he promised he did it in a shorter time than he originally said. He went above and beyond in returning my emails and phone calls. John and staff truly cared about me as a person. I highly recommend John Barnes."

Coach M.

"I would highly recommend Mr. Barnes to everyone & I would definitely contact Mr. Barnes if I or anyone in my family should ever need an attorney again:) They were all very professional, friendly & treated our case with importance:) Mr.Barnes got my son’s DUI dropped to reckless driving so I would definitely recommend him to everyone!!!!!!!"

Alicia U.

"Mr. Barnes and his staff are amazing. I can’t imagine anyone doing a better job with my case. At no point in the long process was I disappointed in any way with how things were handled."

Scott C.